Crime Records

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Carcass - Surgical Steel Review

Band: Carcass
Album: Surgical Steel
Released: September 2013
Label: Nuclear Blast

Just like every other Carcass fan I practically did a backflip on the news that there was a new cd being released after 16 years. Obviously I didn’t as my back is bad enough as it is. Anyways the first single to hit the web via their Facebook and by their label Nuclear Blast’s Youtube page was “Captive Bolt Pistol”. Personally I wasn’t overly crazy about that song when I first heard it.  Once I acquired the actual disc when it was released I was blown away pretty much. Definitely a blast to listen to.

Depending on what country/region you’re in you’ll get one or maybe even two bonus tracks. Thanks to Amazon, etc you can buy whichever version you want or all of them if you wish. I know the band & label would love that. The tracks on what I have go as follows.

1. 1985 (Instrumental)
2. Thrashers Abattoir
3. Cadaver Pouch Conveyor System
4. Congealed Clot of Blood
5. The Master’s Butcher Apron
6. Non Compliance ASTFM 899-12 Standard
7. The Granulated Dark
8. Unfit For Human Consumption
9. 316L Grade Surgical Steel
10. Captive Bolt Pistol
11. Mount of Execution
12. Intensive Battery Brooding (Bonus Track)

Musically the disc goes back to earlier days as Necroticism and Heartwork. Just like Heartwork it’s just Jeff Walker on vocals. Why they don’t do dual vocals anymore, nobody knows but them. Jeff is a good vocalist in his own right though in my opinion. The musicians on this album, all but Bill Steer are new, but they sound even tighter than than the they were on Heartwork. Lyrically it’s tongue in cheek as always, the artwork as pictured above goes back to the Necroticism and Tools of The Trade ep. There’s only one or two mediocre songs the above mentioned Captive Bolt Pistol and the bonus track Intensive Battery Brooding was kind of slow as well. Otherwise it’s a solid disc in this reviewers opinion.

Oddly enough the band and label said on Facebook there was a leak, which quite possibly they knew of before hand. But who’s to say what transpired during recordings of the album. So all of you in the metal community, well the cheapskates flocked to find it via torrents, etc, you know who you are. You can get it online for purchase via Amazon, iTunes, Google Play even had it for $5.99 US at one point as a promotion.

Definitely a disc that will be steadily listened to for awhile in my collection. I’m sure in due time they’ll re-release it with all the bonus tracks and singles that came out with magazines, maybe even packaged with a dvd with it. (Take the hint Carcass boys & marketing execs). It’s highly recommended for all Carcass fans new and old. I give it an 8 out of 10 for a rating as it’s that good and solid of an album.

Carcass official Facebook -

Band Page @ Nuclear Blast -