Crime Records

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Trivium - Vengeance Falls - Review

Band: Trivium
Album Title: Vengeance Falls
Label: Road Runner
Genre: Thrash Metal
Country: United States
Release Date: October 9, 2013

When I was in high school, a friend of mine decided to introduce me to a band named Trivium. Knowing I love brutal riffs and excellent guitar work in solos, he was very confident that I would like the band. He introduced me to the band with the song 'A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation' and when I heard the solo for the first time, I was sold. So after years of being a huge fan of the band, I get the privilege of reviewing their latest album. Lets take take a gander.
This album is produced by Disturbed's front-man David Draimen and he delivers a solid performance. During one song it seems like front-man and rhythm guitarist Matt Heafy was trying to sound like David, which was probably heavily influenced by David. The album starts off with a great opening track titled Brave This Storm. The track immediately sets the pace for the rest of the album that this is a thrash metal album.
Trivium delivers a performance throughout the album that is very "Trivium" in their sound that us fans have come to expect from the group. I was mildly surprised by the new drummer and how well he has clicked into the band and molded his playing style to be Trivium and be that element that doesn't takes away from the group as a whole. Two of my favorite tracks are Through Blood and Dirt and Bone and Villainy Thrives. Excellent lyrics and instrumental work on the tracks and I believe they're the premiere tracks of the album. Matt Heafy primarily sings more and utilizes cleaner vocals than he has in previous albums. Its apparent to see that he and the band have taken a different direction in their sound with their last two albums, but still hold true to what Trivium is.
While the album is a great album it does have it's moments where it sounded like the previous album In Waves, but that feeling only comes around during 1 or 2 tracks and doesn't stick during the entire track which is always a welcome feeling. I hold their Shogun album is the best metal album since Master of Puppets, so my expectations for the band are extremely high. This album is better than In Waves but not better than Shogun, but honestly, Shogun would be extremely difficult to top as it is a masterpiece of metal. If you are a fan of Trivium, you need to listen to this album.

I give the album an 8.5 out of 10.

Track List:

1. Brave This Storm
2. Vengeance Falls
3. Strife
4. No Way To Heal
5. To Believe
6. At The End Of This War
7. Through Blood and Dirt and Bone
8. Villainy Thrives
9. Incineration: The Broken World
10. Wake (The End is Nigh)

(Special Edition)
11. No Hope For The Human Race
12. As I am Exploding
13. Skulls...We Are 138