Crime Records

Friday, June 13, 2014

Sinbreed - Shadows Review

Band: Sinbreed
Album: Shadows
Label: AFM
Genre: Power Metal
Country: Germany
Release Date: March 28, 2014

Back in 2010, Sinbreed came out with a powerful debut album which was straight forward power metal that was heavy and fast and their second album is more of the same, but only better.

Before I get started on the actual album review, I should mention that Sinbreed does have Marcus Sepien and Frederik Ehmke, who were once one half of the legendary Blind Guardian.  Of course, I'm not going to get into the comparison between Sinbreed and Blind Guardian because they're totally different bands, even if they play the same genre of Metal. Also, many others have made the whole Sinbreed/Blind Guardian comparison and I would just be rehashing a lot of stuff.  And now, back to the album review.

The album starts out the gate strong with "Bleed", which sets the tone for the album and you pretty much know what you're going to be experiencing throughout the whole album, which is relentless, fantastic, no frills Power Metal that is played ferociously from beginning to the end.  On the technical side, nothing new is done but Sinbreed delivers fast, aggressive Metal that gets you pumped every time you listen to them.  The songs have incredibly catchy melodies and lyrics that keep you hooked.  It's hard to resist.

The Lead singer, Herbie Langhans (formerly of Christian Power Metal Band Seventh Avenue) has a raspy, gravely singing voice and it really goes well with the music being played and it really helps to put the music over.

Overall, "Shadows" is a good dose of straight forward Power Metal which is a pleasure to the ears from beginning to end.

1. Bleed
2. Shadows
3. Call to Arms
4. Reborn
5. Leaving the Road
6. For Too Long
7. Black Death
8. Standing Tall
9. London Moon
10. Broken Wings

Total Playing Time: 50:06